top of page
Search
  • willhh55

Italian Death Metal Masters Back Again

I was browsing through my Instagram feed, one standard Sunday afternoon when a post from metal YouTube legend InfidelAmsterdam came up. He had just bought a CD from a band called Fulci with the album being Tropical Sun. I instantly recognised the band's name Fulci. The famous Italian horror movie director was Lucio Fulci. He was well known for his gory and graphical movies. I was already massively into horror movies and decided to check it out. I was hooked. I saw that they had a new album recently just come out. Exhumed Information. This album was based off Fulci's lesser known film "Voices From The Beyond". I can't say that I have seen this film, but knew from previous Fulci albums that it was going to be heavy. I wasn't wrong. It is 10 tracks of brutal death metal and terrifying synth which is all a tribute to the master of horror himself. The first half of the album is by the band itself. The other half however is trance like synth from TV-Crimes. That already sets the album apart from others.

The album opens up with "Autopsy". This is an extract from the film, detailing the process of the autopsy by the director. This already sets the grim and brutal mood of the album, as you know your gonna be in for a treat.

Then you are instantly hit in the face by the hammer of brutality with the song "Voices". This is my favourite track off the album. It is a mixture of good riffs and haunting vocals.

You are then mesmerised track by track until you get to number 7 on the track. This is where TV-Crimes comes into it. If you were to sit back and close your eyes you could imagine yourself in a Fulci film. I think it's a great addition to the album and welcome more of their work together. It creates an atmosphere which makes you want to keep listening to more, it's addictive. I must of listened to the album at least 6 times, and it doesn't get old.

The album is a mixture of all the good things from the old and new school underground. It definitely has a cleaner production sound and as much as I love the rougher and dirtier sounding production, I do dig the sound they are going for. I reckon this band will become a big part of the scene and cannot wait to see how they continue to progress.


If you haven't already bought the album here is a link : https://fulcicult.bandcamp.com/album/exhumed-information

Link to their FB page: https://www.facebook.com/fulciband/


Keep up the good work guys and I look forward to the next album \m/





9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page